# STAGECOACH PROPERTY OWNERS ASSOCIATION Meeting of the Board of Directors July 26, 2014

Board Members Present: Mike Koponen, John Troka, Skip Moyer, Art Fine, Ben Marhle, Tonja Elkins, Tom Watts and John DiNicholas

Board Members not present: Thomas Rashid and Barbara Houston

Staff Present: Bryan Ayer, Association Manager from Steamboat Association Management

Owners/Guests Present: Ken Burgess, owner and previous General Manager

Mike called the meeting to order at 1:40 pm.

The Board met first in Executive Session to discuss legal matters.

### **Board Terms**

Currently there are five (5) open positions on the SPOA Board. Three of the positions are for a three year term, one is for a two year term, and one is for a one year term. The shortened terms are for the vacancies created by the resignations of Ann Holmes and Skip Moyer. The 3 year terms are for the board seats which had their terms expire this year. These seats are held by Dave Hackett, Robert Skorkowsky, and Art Fine.

It was determined by consensus that Art Fine, Tom Watts and Tom Rashid would fill the three year terms, John DiNicholas would fill the 2 year term and Barbara Houston would fill the 1 year term. As a result the current Board terms stand as follows:

Elkins	Replacement term (2 years)	ends July 2015
Houston	Replacement term (1 years)	ends July 2015
Koponen	First term	ends July 2015
DiNicholas	Replacement term (2 years)	ends July 2016
Marhle	Replacement term (2 years)	ends July 2016
Troka	First term	ends July 2016
Fine	Second term	ends July 2017
Rashid	First term	ends July 2017
Watts	First term	ends July 2017

#### Officer Elections

Motion: John Troka was nominated as President. Motion Seconded. All in Favor.

Motion: Mike Koponen was nominated as Vice President. Motion Seconded. All in Favor.

**Motion:** Ben Mahrle was nominated as Treasurer. Motion Seconded. All in Favor. **Motion:** Tonja Elkins was nominated as Secretary. Motion Seconded. All in Favor.

It was suggested to appoint a committee to act as a liaison with Routt County in order to better serve the direction of the Board in regards to the Stagecoach Master Plan.

A committee of four (4) Board members was formed. The committee members are: John DiNicholas, Mike Koponen, Art Fine and Ben Marhle.

Motion: To appoint Tom Watts as the new ACC Committee chair. Motion was seconded. All in Favor.

## **Ratifications of Previous Board Actions Approved via Email**

**Ratification:** Through email it had been moved by Skip Moyer and seconded by Mike Koponen to reallocate the \$5,000 approved for slash forwarding to be used to burn the slash piles in place. The motion was seconded by Mike Koponen.

The following Board Members had voted **FOR** the Motion:

John Troka

Art Fine

Mike Koponen

Ben Marhle

Tonja Elkins

Skip Moyer

The following Board Members voted **AGAINST** the Motion:

**David Hackett** 

The Motion passes.

Ratification: Through email it had been moved that the Board engage Ken Burgess to support the Association in an advisory capacity as it relates to completing the transition of the Association's management functions to Steamboat Association Management and the defense of the Association in the current legal matter in current legal matters. Mr. Burgess will be paid \$40/hour for his services and all services to be performed must be pre-approved by the Association's President.

The motion was seconded by Dave Hackett.

The Following Board Members Voted **FOR** the Motion:

John Troka

**Dave Hackett** 

Mike Koponen Tonja Elkins Ben Marhle Skip Moyer

The following Board Members voted  ${\bf AGAINST}$  the Motion:

None

The following Board Members did not vote: Robert Skorkowsky Art Fine

# **Next Board Meeting**

The next meeting of the Board of Directors was set for Saturday, September 6, 2014 at 9:00 AM at a location to be determined.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:19 PM